Posted by: Amy Chandler | February 27, 2008

Exciting firsts: Edelman Digital Bootcamp and AIDS Walk/Run Athens

Weather in the south at this time of year is remarkably unpredictable. It’s not uncommon to wear cashmere and a heavy wool coat one day and sport a polo and a skirt a few days later.

What remains constant is that springtime is an exciting time for events. I’m looking forward to a day of both personal and community development.

1. I’ll start with the inaugural Edelman Digital Bootcamp.

Edelman Digital Bootcamp

I won’t exactly be “attending” the conference, but I’ll be using social media to cover the event live with other members of Dr. Russell’s WOM class. (That’s the same class that I write this blog for!)

So look for my team–Kendel, Chris, Sue and Jenny–as we cover the bootcamp on Twitter, Flickr and the event blog. Some of us have used Twitter and Flickr before, but most of us are very new to podcasting and video, so we’ll work hard to bring you some great content! Look for the ugaedb08 tag.

I’m excited to cover the event, and I hope that in between our work we can pick up some great tips about social media.

Kudos to Dr. Sweetser’s campaigns class, Grady College and Edelman for making it all happen.

2. After I fill my brain with social media wisdom and use my little knowledge to cover the event, I’ll be off to participate in the inaugural AIDS Walk Run Athens.

AIDS Walk/Run Athens 2008 logo

Sadly, Georgia has the eight largest HIV caseload in the U.S. My good friend Lauren is one of the founders of the event, the first of its kind in Athens. They have been raising money all year, including the recent Clips for a Cause fundraiser that invited local hairstylists to donate their time and cut and style hair in exchange for donations to AIDS Athens.

Lauren and her team are so passionate about helping others, and I hope that the events are a great success! If you’re not planning on a day of social media, visit their Web site and register to walk or run.

Leave a Reply

Categories

